The yoof of today

I’ve been on a bit of an operation this week aimed at curbing incidents so frequent that they are simply titled YCA: Youths Causing Annoyance. What this basically means is tackling instances of anti-social behaviour by disenchanted young people hanging around – apparently- aimlessly. For us it means the wielding of techniques and powers such as the power to seize alcohol form under eighteens in public – an anomaly in the law being, until we were given this power, that all the offences relate to licensed premises i.e. the purchase and sale of alcohol to young people, not the possession of it by them. We also use a video team to capture images of the offenders, to use, where there are no blatant offences, to show their parents later – the idea being that the parents will be shocked into better parenting and curb their offspring’s excesses. That’s fine as far as it goes but presupposes that the parents actually give a damn.

I have to say though that the tolerance in the UK for all things young is low. Youths seem not to have to do very much to cause annoyance; simply hanging around on a street corner is annoying apparently and explanations to callers to the police by our control room staff of what the law considers anti-social behaviour to be, doesn’t wash. So I often feel that I am treading a line between enforcing the law and harassing kids who simply want to ‘hang’ with their mates. There is precious little will, it seems to me, to spend any money on providing the sorts of places that are actually likely to be used by today’s young people.

Anyway on a lighter note and talking of all things young; I have a week off next week and am hanging with my good friends Jacqui and Tracy in – this was an impulsive last minute thing – Argassi…what? you don’t know where it is?…it’s on the delightful (I am told) island of Zante (Greece, you uncultured lot!). And as if that wasn’t enough I shall be returning not to my regular beat but straight to the Force Driving School for my driving course – oh joy! I am very excited, though curious to see what the driving instructors are like, I am told they are predominantly older traffic officers and they – traffic officers – are a funny breed. So, from pedalo to police car: should be fun.

P.S. Sorry about the dodgy picture, I don’t know him – honest!

May 11, 2007. girl-stuff, life, police.

4 Comments

  1. Bill Blunt replied:

    It’s a fine line indeed between tolerance and intolerance. I think I (most probably) did things in my own youth that might now be considered ‘anti-social’, but a well-timed clip around the earhole was the usual punishment, whereas nowadays I expect an ASBO would be issued.
    It’s reassuring to know that the police are thinking about this issue ‘in the round’.
    Enjoy your well-earned break in Argassi, Sarah. Keep a look-out for my son Justin, while you’re there – he’s in Zante at the same time, by co-incidence. There’s a huge financial bonus available to any young lady who can take him off our hands.

  2. nursemyra replied:

    ooh have fun on your holiday sarah

    and when you come back, keep a lookout for a new aussie film called Noise.

    there’s some interesting characters in it and the lead is a policeman

  3. Shawn Ambrose replied:

    Hi, I am Shawn Ambrose, a member of some financial communities. I am a frequent reader of your blog, as I found the articles really worth reading. The quality of your content is so good, that it made me request you something. I love to write financial articles and would like to contribute something for your blog absolutely free of cost. I can give you an original guest post and if you want, you can suggest me the topic also and I will write accordingly. Not only that, I give you the total rights to edit the article and modify it as per your needs.

    Please let me know your thoughts. Waiting for your positive reply.
    If you have any questions or need anything feel free to contact me at : shawnambrose4u[at]gmail[.]com

    Thanks and Regards,
    Shawn Ambrose

  4. Shawn Ambrose replied:

    Hi,

    I am Shawn Ambrose, a member of some financial communities. I am a frequent reader of your blog, as I found the articles really worth reading. The quality of your content is so good, that it made me request you something. I love to write financial articles and would like to contribute something for your blog absolutely free of cost. I can give you an original guest post and if you want, you can suggest me the topic also and I will write accordingly. Not only that, I give you the total rights to edit the article and modify it as per your needs.

    Please let me know your thoughts. Waiting for your positive reply.
    If you have any questions or need anything feel free to contact me at : shawnambrose4u[at]gmail[.]com

    Thanks and Regards,
    Shawn Ambrose

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

